you're reading...
Music, Music News

Polaris Music Prize announces partnership with Toronto Symphony Orchestra

By: Staff –

2015 Polaris Music Prize gala host Fred Penner announcing the new partnership between the Polaris Music Prize and the Toronto Symphony Orchestra.

2015 Polaris Music Prize gala host Fred Penner announcing the new partnership between the Polaris Music Prize and the Toronto Symphony Orchestra.

The Polaris Music Prize today announced a partnership with the Toronto Symphony Orchestra (TSO). This unique collaboration will see members of the TSO performing with some of the Short List nominees at the Polaris Gala, taking place September 21 at The Carlu in Toronto, with an opportunity for the winner of the 2015 Polaris Music Prize to perform their original works with the TSO at a concert at Roy Thomson Hall in 2016.

“We’re extremely flattered and honoured that an organization with such an esteemed musical history wants to partner with Polaris-recognized artists in this way,” commented Steve Jordan, Executive Director, Polaris Music Prize. “The idea of artistic collaboration is very dear to us, and we’re anticipating some musically thrilling results.”

“The TSO is proud to partner with the Polaris Music Prize, one of Canada’s most notable music organizations that recognizes the creativity of our nation’s recording artists,” said Jeff Melanson, President and CEO, Toronto Symphony Orchestra. “We’re delighted to work with like-minded, innovative arts institutions to showcase the valuable role music plays in our cultural well-being, and the diversity of this year’s Short List provides an exciting backdrop for this powerful and worthwhile conversation.”

Confirmed performers at the Polaris Gala include Alvvays, Braids, Jennifer Castle, Tobias Jesso Jr., Buffy Sainte-Marie, and Viet Cong. Fred Penner will host the Gala, which will be webcast live on Aux.tv.

Listen to all the Polaris Music Prize nominees on: http://spoti.fi/Polaris.

The eligibility period for the 2015 Polaris Music Prize runs from June 1, 2014 to May 31, 2015. An independent jury of 196 music journalists, broadcasters, and music bloggers from across Canada determines the Long List and Short List. Eleven people are selected from the larger jury pool to serve on the Grand Jury and will convene the night of the Gala to select the Polaris Music Prize winner.

The Polaris Music Prize will award $50,000 to the artist who creates the Canadian Album of the Year. Courtesy of Slaight Music, each of the nine other short-listed artists will receive $3,000. Judged solely on artistic merit, without consideration of genre or record sales, the prize’s past winners have included Tanya Tagaq (2014), Godspeed You! Black Emperor (2013), Feist (2012), Arcade Fire (2011), Karkwa (2010), Fucked Up (2009), Caribou (2008), Patrick Watson (2007), and Final Fantasy / Owen Pallett (2006).



No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Check out our latest Spotify playlist
%d bloggers like this: