you're reading...
Music, Music News

Steven Page announces new solo album “Heal Thyself Pt. 1: Instinct”

By: Staff –

Steven Page.

Steven Page.

Ex-Barenaked Ladies singer Steven Page has announced his new solo album, Heal Thyself Pt. 1: Instinct, out March 11th.

A blend of modern pop melodies and infectious arrangements and deep lyrics, Heal Thyself Pt. 1: Instinct features 12 new tracks including the lead single, “Surprise Surprise. Watch the lyric video below.

Fans who pre-order the album now will receive an instant grat of “Surprise Surprise.

Page recorded Heal Thyself Pt. 1: Instinct between Vancouver and Toronto and was produced by Page and Craig Northey, and his band the Odds, who performed on most tracks. Other songs were recorded with Page’s live band, The Original Six, comprised of Bryden, Jay and Jesse Baird, with Kevin Fox and Karen Graves on strings. On tracks like “Work At Hand” and “Mama”Page touches upon how political and spiritual forces have eroded faith in art and science, approaching this with traditional Canadian satire – something the artist has come to terms with on a whole new level since moving to the United States several years ago. In turn, this led him to ponder his role in a wider musical sphere.

“I’ve always had a problem describing myself as an artist, and it got even harder after moving to the U.S. where that word has been devalued considerably,” Page says. “There was always a sense of guilt that I didn’t have a ‘real job,’ and that got channeled into some of these new songs, almost as a reaction to the mistrust and spitefulness that pervades so much of our current discourse in North America.”

But that doesn’t mean Page is leaving the fun behind. Heal Thyself Pt. 1: Instinct is rather an ode, as he infuses a love for the Beatles and Beach Boys-tinged pop-rock on “I Can See My House From Here”, “Linda Rondstadt In The 70”, and on the album’s first single, “Surprise Surprise”.

Throughout his 25-year career, Page has become one of Canada’s most recognized artists. Since his time as a prominent piece of the Barenaked Ladies earning North American gold and platinum-certified albums, to his solo career as a talented songwriter scoring plays, and as an adventurous TV host, Page has delved into an array of scenes, locally and abroad. Heal Thyself Pt. 1: Instinct is not only a cathartic return to music, but a declaration of blocking out the noise to find answers. “Sometimes the things we deride contain the very things we need to make us whole,” he says. “In that sense, there’s some irony in calling the album Heal Thyself. I almost called it The Golden Age Of Television.”

Heal Thyself Pt. 1: Instinct is a sentiment of his work to date, and one that long-time fans and new listeners alike will enjoy. “The best you can do is make the art you are driven to make,” Page comments, “and in the end I know this album sounds like me.” 

Heal Thyself Pt. 1: Instinct Track-Listing
1. There’s A Melody I
2. The Work At Hand
3. Here’s What It Takes
4. I Can See My House From Here
5. Manchild
6. If That’s Your Way
7. Mama
8. Surprise Surprise
9. Hole In The Moonlight
10. Linda Ronstadt In The 70s
11. There’s A Melody II
12. No Song Left To Save Me



  1. Pingback: Steven Page at the Cafe Carlyle | The Front Row Center - March 24, 2016

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Check out our latest Spotify playlist
%d bloggers like this: