you're reading...
Music, Music News

Holy Fuck Announce New LP “Deleter”, Share Video For “Luxe” ft. Hot Chip’s Alexis Taylor

By: Staff –

Holy Fuck have announced details of their new album Deleter, which will be released on January 17 and is further previewed with today’s release of the video for the group’s latest single “Luxe” (ft. Alexis Taylor).

The video for “Luxe” was created by Spanish illustrators Cynthia Alfonso and Óscar Raña, aka Rapapawn (with Alfonso also producing all of the artwork for Deleter). Introducing the visual, Holy Fuck describe how “synaesthesia is a big part of the creative process for us; deciding where to pan instruments, how to treat them in the mix, as well as the overall song writing process – you naturally connect it to the visual. It’s then out of our hands the moment we ask someone else to handle artwork and videos. But that’s the most interesting part…’seeing’ how someone else sees it.

For the video, the band said, “Cynthia and Oscar were able to take this visual world of Deleter to the next dimension, creating a world that feels a lot like the one we lived in when we were in the studio making the record. We love how they distort mundane, industrial, inanimate objects to create something emotional and organic… something so fundamentally human. In the process of bringing things to life, they make them either playful or dangerous. Everything ‘off-gases”.

Arriving at a moment where attention spans are shot and anxieties are going into overdrive, Deleter, Holy Fuck’s fifth studio LP, is a defiantly full-bodied affair. Polyrhythmic and pleasure- focused, Deleter sees Brian Borcherdt, Graham Walsh, Matt Schulz, and Matt “Punchy” McQuaid taking their signature sound to new creative heights – seamlessly fusing the gauzy drive of krautrock and deep house’s dreamy ineffability, expertly blending purring motorik percussion with the sort of fuggy synthetic fizz and tang that so often sends clubbers into states of unselfconscious rapture.

Spiritually, Deleter is an album that explores what happens when humanity and technology coalesce into one big, semi-organic celebration of the joys of spontaneity, repetition, and individuality. As the band puts it, “the robots are smarter than ever, and the algorithm knows more and more what we like as individuals, but we have to remind ourselves that there is music in the margins that can go missing and that that music is more important than ever.” Marginal or not, Deleter is the sound of Holy Fuck freely ebbing and flowing in their own unique ecosystem. As a listener you’ve got a choice – carry on with the passive consumption, or push back, engage, and move to something worth of your time. Something like Deleter.

Deleter Tracklisting

  1. Luxe (feat. Alexis Taylor)
  2. Deleters (feat. Angus Andrew)
  3. Endless
  4. Free Gloss (feat. Nicholas Allbrook)
  5. Moment
  6. Near Mint
  7. No Error
  8. San Sebastien
  9. Ruby


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: