you're reading...
Music News

Feist Announces New Album “Multitudes”, Shares Three New Songs

By: Staff –

Feist returns with Multitudes, available April 14 on Fiction Records/Universal Music Canada, her sixth solo album and first since 2017’s Pleasure.

Three album tracks have also been released today – “In Lightning”, “Love Who We Are Meant To” and “Hiding Out in The Open” – stream the tracks below, and pre-order the album here.

Multitudes was produced by Feist with longtime collaborators Robbie Lackritz (The Weather Station, Bahamas, Robbie Robertson) and Mocky (Jamie Lidell, Vulfpeck, Kelela), with additional production from Blake Mills (Bob Dylan, Fiona Apple, Perfume Genius).

Multitudes took shape soon after the birth of her daughter and sudden death of her father, a back-to-back convergence of life-altering events that left the Canadian singer/songwriter with “Nothing performative in me anymore.” As she cleansed her songwriting of any tendency to obscure unwanted truths, Feist slowly made her way toward a batch of songs rooted in a raw and potent realism which is touched with otherworldly beauty.

“The last few years were such a period of confrontation for me, and perhaps it felt that way to some degree for everyone,” explains Feist. “We confronted ourselves as much as our relationships confronted us. It felt like our relational ecosystems were clearer than ever and so whatever was normally obscured – like a certain way of avoiding conflict or a certain way of talking around the subject – were thrust into an unavoidable light. It became a chance to find footing on more honest ground when the effort to maintain altitude actually took more effort than just handing ourselves over to the truth.”

Largely written and workshopped during an intensely communal experimental show of the same name through 2021 and 2022, the songs on Multitudes developed in parallel with and were deeply influenced by the mutuality of the unconventional experience. The production, developed by Feist with legendary designer Rob Sinclair (David Byrne’s American Utopia, Peter Gabriel, Tame Impala) was formulated to bring people together as they re-emerged from lockdown while providing an outlet for connection between artist, art, and community.

For the recording, Feist returned to her 2011 collaboration with Lackritz and Mocky, who made her third album Metals in a converted barn in Big Sur. This time, Lackritz and Engineer Michael Harris (Haim, Lana Del Rey, Vampire Weekend) built a studio in Northern California next to the Redwood Forest, where Feist was joined by multi-instrumentalists Gabe Noel (Kendrick Lamar, Harry Styles, Kamasi Washington), Shahzad Ismaily (Laurie Anderson, Lou Reed, Tom Waits), and her regular cast who toured Multitudes – Todd Dahlhoff (woodwinds, synths, bass) and Amir Yaghmai (strings, guitars) – plus a guest appearance from longtime collaborator Chilly Gonzales.

Multitudes Track List:
01 In Lightning
02 Forever Before
03 Love Who We Are Meant To
04 Hiding Out in The Open
05 The Redwing
06 I Took All Of My Rings Off
07 Of Womankind
08 Become The Earth
09 Borrow Trouble
10 Martyr Moves
11 Calling All The Gods
12 Song For Sad Friends



No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Check out our latest Spotify playlist
%d bloggers like this: