you're reading...
Concert Photography, Concert Reviews, Music

Photos + Review: Queens of the Stone Age, Royal Blood @ Budweiser Stage

Photos by: Tyler Roberts –

Review by: Curtis Sindrey –

Queens of the Stone Age perform at Budweiser Stage in Toronto on September 9, 2017. (Photo: Tyler Roberts/Aesthetic Magazine)

Queens of the Stone Age perform at Budweiser Stage in Toronto on September 9, 2017. (Photo: Tyler Roberts/Aesthetic Magazine)

Hard Rock royalty Queens of the Stone Age brought their “Villains World Tour” to Budweiser Stage in Toronto last night in what was their biggest North American show to date to play a no-nonsense 21-song set that prominently featured tracks from their new Mark Ronson-produced album, Villians.

“Toronto, how the fuck are ya?” frontman Josh Homme asked the crowd as he ordered security to bring him a fan’s beach ball. “I didn’t come here to play with your balls, man,” Homme said as he proceeded to deflate the beach ball with a switchblade. Protip: Don’t fuck with Josh Homme.

Villains is not your typical Queens of the Stone Age record. More upbeat than its predecessor, 2013’s Like Clockwork, the new album is the quintet’s most fun, and danceable effort yet. With the refreshing disco beats and use of synths on new tracks “Un-Reborn Again,” and “Feet Don’t Fail Me,” the band is more sonically carefree this time around, and on this night, there was as much dancing in the crowd as there was moshing.

“Everybody wants to put you in a cage. Don’t say this, don’t say that, don’t walk on the grass. But it’s Saturday night in Toronto and you can do whatever the fuck you want,” Homme said defiantly as he promised the crowd that it would be “smooth sailing from here on out.”

Ever since one of their first Toronto shows at Lee’s Palace in January 1999, Queens of the Stone Age’s live sets have consisted of roaring vocals, blistering guitars, and pummeling percussion, and last night was no different with a lineup that played out like a who’s who of rock royalty with longtime guitarist Troy Van Leeuwen (Failure, Eagles of Death Metal, The Gutter Twins), bassist Michael Shuman (Jubilee), keyboardist Dean Fertita (The Raconteurs, The Dead Weather), and drummer Jon Theodore (The Mars Volta, Royal Trux).

“There’s a little bit of me that still thinks we’re just some rock band from the desert…” Homme said closing out the show with Songs For The Deaf cuts “You Think I Ain’t Worth a Dollar, But I Feel Like a Millionaire,” and a thunderous rendition of “A Song for the Dead.” And as the strobe lights washed over you in a sonic assault to your senses (in the best way possible), everyone felt like a millionaire.

Queens of the Stone Age

  1. Feet Don’t Fail Me
  2. Turnin’ on the Screw
  3. My God Is the Sun
  4. The Evil Has Landed
  5. Smooth Sailing
  6. Domesticated Animals
  7. No One Knows
  8. Avon (tour debut)
  9. The Lost Art of Keeping a Secret (tour debut)
  10. Fortress
  11. Make It Wit Chu (not on setlist)
  12. Leg of Lamb
  13. Head Like a Haunted House
  14. I Appear Missing
  15. Villains of Circumstance
  16. If I Had a Tail
  17. The Way You Used to Do
  18. Little Sister
  19. Go With the Flow
  20. You Think I Ain’t Worth a Dollar, but I Feel Like a Millionaire
  21. A Song for the Dead

Royal Blood

  1. I Only Lie When I Love You
  2. Where Are You Now?
  3. Come on Over
  4. Little Monster
  5. Hook, Line & Sinker
  6. Hole in Your Heart
  7. Lights Out
  8. Figure It Out
  9. Loose Change
  10. Out of the Black


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Check out our latest Spotify playlist
%d bloggers like this: