//
you're reading...
Music, Music News

Coldplay to Headline Glastonbury Festival Livestream Event

By: Staff –

Having been forced to cancel the Festival for a second consecutive year, Glastonbury will host an exclusive global livestream from Worthy Farm on Saturday, 22nd May – for the first time in their history enabling music fans wherever they are in the world to join together and share the experience of the Festival and its idyllic natural surroundings.

Filmed across the Festival’s Worthy Farm site at landmarks including the Pyramid Field and the Stone Circle, the event will see a range of artists giving their time to perform in support of the Festival, including Coldplay, Damon Albarn, HAIM, IDLES, Jorja Smith, Kano, Michael Kiwanuka, Wolf Alice, plus DJ Honey Dijon, who will all perform as part of an uninterrupted film production. There will also be a number of unannounced surprise performances.

The event will support Glastonbury’s three main charitable partners, Oxfam, Greenpeace and WaterAid, as well as helping to secure the Festival’s return in 2022.

The ground-breaking, five-hour extravaganza will be interspersed by a spoken word narrative, written and delivered by some very special guests, guiding Festival-goers on a journey through the sacred valley in Somerset.

Accessible only to ticket buyers, the online event will be broadcast in full across four separate time zones, with staggered livestreams for the UK, Europe, Africa & the Middle East, East Coast North America & Central / South America, West Coast North America, and Australia, New Zealand & Asia.

Livestream #1 – UK, EUROPE, AFRICA & MIDDLE EAST: 7 pm BST / 8 pm CEST & SAST / 9 pm MSK & EEST / 10 pm GST

Livestream #2 – NORTH AMERICA (EAST COAST) and CENTRAL & SOUTH AMERICA: 6 pm CDT / 7 pm EDT / 8 pm ART & BRT

Livestream #3 – NORTH AMERICA (WEST COAST): 7 pm PDT

Livestream #4 – AUSTRALIA, NEW ZEALAND & ASIA (on Sunday 23rd May): 4 pm ICT / 5 pm HKT & PHST / 6 pm JST & KST/ 7 pm AEST / 9 pm NZST

Tickets are on sale now at £20, €23, $27.50 & AUD$35

Get your tickets at worthyfarm.live

A limited edition line-up poster for the event will also be available, with proceeds going to Stagehand, the live production welfare and benevolent fund which is helping crew who have fallen into the gaps in Government financial support during the pandemic.

Emily Eavis said: “After two Glastonbury cancellations, it brings us great pleasure to announce our first online livestream, which will present live music performances filmed across Worthy Farm at landmarks including the Pyramid and, for the first time ever, the Stone Circle. It will feature a rolling cast of artists and performers who have all given us enormous support by agreeing to take part in this event, showing the farm as you have never seen it. There will also be some very special guest appearances and collaborations. We are hoping this will bring a bit of Glastonbury to your homes and that for one night only people all over the world will be able to join us on this journey through the farm together!”

Shot by acclaimed Grammy-nominated director Paul Dugdale, the hugely ambitious production will take viewers on a journey of the world famous Glastonbury site, which typically greets more than 200,000 people each June. The show will be co-promoted and produced by the pioneering UK livestream business Driift, who have hosted globally successful livestreams for artists including Laura Marling, Nick Cave, Biffy Clyro, Niall Horan and Kylie Minogue, and BBC Studios Productions.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Check out our latest Spotify playlist
%d bloggers like this: