you're reading...
Music, Music News

Minus the Bear Announce “Farewell” Live LP, Share “Absinthe Party at the Fly Honey Warehouse (Live)”

By: Staff –

Seattle indie rock band Minus the Bear have announced the release of the Farewell live LP, due out October 29th via Suicide Squeeze Records. The album (watch the trailer below) features previously unreleased live versions of fan favourites and deep cuts from throughout the band’s 17 year run, recorded at various dates along their 2018 farewell tour. Farewell will be available as a 3xLP and on digital formats. Additionally, the band shared the live recording of “Absinthe Party at the Fly Honey Warehouse”. Stream it below.

When Minus the Bear played their debut show in Seattle back in September 2001, there was an immediate hype surrounding the band. The individual members had already established themselves on a national level with earlier music projects, and their debut EP, This Is What I Know About Being Gigantic, was already available at the merch table. Within the first few measures of their distinctive brand of nimble and dexterous indie rock, it was obvious to the audience that the insider buzz was well deserved. Twenty years later, we’re treated to Farewell—a 3xLP live album spanning their seventeen-year run and a sonic goodbye note to their fervent fanbase. Listening to Farewell, the listener is reminded of Minus the Bear’s ability to deliver their cerebral instrumentation, pensive songwriting, and serious musicianship with an infectious energy and celebratory spirit. It’s no wonder they ascended to such heights. 

But all things must pass. And so it was that Minus the Bear said farewell to their audience over the course of a US tour in the fall of 2018. They had always been a band that thrived in the live setting, so it only made sense to document those final performances for posterity. Recorded across multiple shows in a variety of cities, Farewell serves as both an approximation of the average night’s setlist on that final tour (the song selection changing slightly from night to night) and a chronicle of the band’s sonic evolution. Bolstered by the mix of Matt Bayles and master job by Ed Brooks at Resonant Mastering, the album sounds like a fully immersive live experience. ​​ 

Farewell opens with a highly energized performance of Menos el Oso’s crucial track “Drilling.” Part of the beauty of watching Minus the Bear was hearing their songs unfold on stage and realizing how little studio magic was actually involved in their albums. All the electric wizardry by guitarists David Knudson and Jake Snider, technicolor synth work by Alex Rose, and rhythmic interplay between drummer Joshua Sparks and bassist Cory Murchy happens in real time, and hearing the old favorites here in all their road-tested glory is an invigorating reminder of the band’s razor sharp performances and forward-thinking creativity. Minus the Bear were never a band to rest on their laurels, and Farewell immediately moves onto late career classics like the melancholic banger “Last Kiss.” The whole discography is covered—from first EP cuts like “Lemurs, Man, Lemurs” and “Hey, Wanna Throw Up?” to the title track of their final release Fair Enough. And in between we hear the roar of the crowd, the heartfelt thanks and bittersweet ruminations on the passing of the years by Snider, and the occasional dad joke by Rose. 

Farewell covers a lot of ground across the span of its 26 songs and two-hour run time. Yet every moment is a reminder of why Minus the Bear were such an experiential live band. 

The initial pressing of Farewell is limited to 3,000 copies (1,900 on custom opaque gray vinyl – retail exclusive, 600 on custom opaque gold vinyl – artist exclusive, 500 on custom opaque red vinyl – label exclusive).

Farewell Track List:
1. Drilling – Live
2. Last Kiss – Live
3. Lemurs, Man, Lemurs – Live
4. Absinthe Party at the Fly Honey Warehouse – Live
5. Thanks for the Killer Game of Crisco Twister – Live
6. Diamond Lightning – Live
7. My Time – Live
8. Summer Angel – Live
9. Cold Company – Live
10. Fair Enough – Live
11. The Fix – Live
12. Fine + 2 Pts – Live
13. I’m Totally Not Down With Rob’s Alien – Live
14. This Ain’t a Surfin’ Movie – Live
15. The Game Needed Me – Live
16. Invisible – Live
17. Monkey!!! Knife!!! Fight!!! – Live
18. White Mystery – Live
19. Spritz!!! Spritz!!! – Live
20. Knights – Live
21. Let’s Play Guitar in a Five Guitar Band – Live
22. Hey, Wanna Throw Up? – Live
23. Get Me Naked 2: Electric Boogaloo – Live
24. Into the Mirror – Live
25. Throwin’ Shapes – Live
26. Pachuca Sunrise – Live

Pre-Order of Farewell via Suicide Squeeze Records here


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Check out our latest Spotify playlist
%d bloggers like this: