you're reading...
Music, Music News

Iceland Airwaves Announces 30 Additional Artists

By: Staff – 

Iceland Airwaves returns to downtown Reykjavík this November 3-6, 2021. Today, they announce nearly 30 new additional artists. With Iceland’s natural wonders, Iceland Airwaves is similar in its one-of-a-kind offering.

Driving today’s announcement comes the UK’s biggest breakthrough artist of the year, Arlo Parks. She’s soothed millions with her captivating and poetic debut album Collapsed In Sunbeams and is a 3-time Brit 2020 nominee. Fans of twisted indie trip-hop sounds will want to catch one of the UK’s hottest new acts, duo Sad Night Dynamite. Across the Atlantic, Chicago’s mutli-talent vocalist, songwriter and producer KeiyaA is on an undeniable rise with her woozy electro soul, whilst Bartees Strange’s debut Live Forever is an electrifying mix of opera, emo and hardcore.

As always, Iceland Airwaves also shines light on the freshest Icelandic talent. Newcomers this year include Laufey (who just took out Best Jazz / Blues Newcomer at the 2021 Icelandic Music Awards), post-classical pianist Eydís Evensen, the emo-pop-hip-hop of Ouse, and local hard rock extravaganza Power Paladin. There’s also the return of synth-punk artists Kælan Mikla, indie pop troubadour Axel Flóvent and dream pop trio Vök.

With anticipation for this year’s event at an all time high, many acts confirmed today will be performing live for the first time since 2019, including Luxembourg’s Francis of Delirium and Tuys, the heady clash of post punk and hip-hop of London’s Wu-Lu, Ireland’s pop prodigy Smoothboi Ezra, and rising rap star, and winner of the 2020 RTÉ Choice Music Prize for Album of The Year, Denise Chaila.

As previously announced, Reykjavík will also welcome the likes of America’s Black Pumas and Canada’s Crack Cloud and Marie Davidson and L’Œil Nu. The UK’s Metronomy, Squid, Dry Cleaning, Lynks and Porridge Radio will perform alongside Iceland’s Eurovision sensation Daði Freyr and long-standing Airwaves favorites Sin Fang, Mugison, Mammút and Bríet, who swept last week’s Iceland Music Awards, taking out Pop Album of the Year, Lyricist of the Year, and Female Singer of the Year, respectively.


ADHD, Andavald, Andy Svarthol, Any Other (IT), Aragrúi, Arlo Parks (UK), Aron Can,   Ásta, Axel Flóvent, Balming Tiger (KR), Bartees Strange (US), Benni Hemm Hemm, Black Pumas (US), BSÍ, Bríet, Cell7, CHLOBOCOP (UK), Countess Malaise, Crack Cloud (CA), Daði Freyr, Daughters of Reykjavík, Denise Chaila (IE), dj. flugvél og geimskip, Dry Cleaning (UK), Eydís Evensen, Faux Real (FR), Francis of Delirium (LU), GDRN, GRÓA, gugusar, Halldór Eldjárn, Hipsumhaps, Holdgervlar, Inspector Spacetime, ISÁK (NO), Júníus Meyvant, Kælan Mikla, KAMARA (NO), Karina (FI), kef LAVÍK, KeiyaA (US), Kiriyama Family, KLEIN (LU), K.óla, Kristin Sesselja, Krummi, Laufey, Logi Pedro, Lynks (UK), MAMMÚT, Magnús Jóhann, Máni Orrason, Marie Davidson & L’Œil Nu (CA), Metronomy (UK), MSEA, Mugison, Myrkvi, Omotrack,  Ouse, Oyama, Pale Moon, Porridge Radio (UK), Power Paladin, Sad Night Dynamite (UK), Salóme Katrín, Sara Parkman (SE), S.hel, sideproject, Sigrún Stella, Sin Fang, Sinmara, Skoffín, Smoothboi Ezra (IE), snny, Squid (UK), superserious, supersport!, Svala, Tami T (SE), THUMPER (IE), TootArd (Golan Heights) Tuys (LU), Tyson (UK), Ultraflex, The Vintage Caravan,Vök, Wu-Lu (UK)


Travel packages from 30 departure points across UK, Europe, US and Canada available
from Icelandair.


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Check out our latest Spotify playlist
%d bloggers like this: